ATHENS Programme

An 8 day exchange between associated universities.

Created in 1996, the ATHENS Network is composed of 15 European technological universities or institutions from the following countries: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Spain and Turkey.

  • AUTh (Thessaloniki)
  • BME (Budapest)
  • CTU (Prague)
  • IST (Lisbo
  • ITU (Istanbul
  • KUL (Leuven)
  • NTNU (Trondheim)
  • Politecnico Milan
  • TUD (Delft)
  • TUM (Munich)
  • TUW (Wien)
  • UCL (Louvain-la-Neuve)
  • UPM (Madrid)
  • WUT (Warsaw)
  • ParisTech (Paris)

The principle goal of the Network is to facilitate the exchange of students among the major European technological universities.

One of the Network's first and most unique actions concerns the organisation of an intensive course programme given at each member institution during one of two defined periods ("Sessions") of the academic year (November and March). This training activity, called ATHENS (Advanced Technology Higher Education Network/SOCRATES).

Each Session, includes both 30 hours of scientific courses work as well as 10-15 hours of "European Dimension" Activities. At the termination of an ATHENS Session, the Home Institution officially recognises the work carried out, according to the results obtained on an examination organised by the Host Institution and evaluated according to its proper system of grading. Each complete Session is generally worth 2 to 3 ECTS credits. The number of credits given depends on the home University.

In order to participate in the Session, candidates are asked to do the following:

  • Complete the Registration Form and indicate, in addition to the course selected as a first choice, a "second choice course and third choice" in order to have a strong chance of participating in the Session. 
  • Choose three or more possible courses in order of priority, taking into account the background knowledge (prerequisites) required in order to fully benefit from the course selected (additional information can be obtained from the professor organising the course, see the Course Description, and by consulting professors at the Home Institution).
  • Complete, print out and sign the Registration Form and the Student Commitment and return both forms (Registration Form must be accepted by Dean or Vice-Dean of the Faculty) to the ATHENS Programme Coordinator's office, room 233C in WUT Main Building You should also read "Things to Know about ATHENS" at
  • Take special note of the dates, hours and different European Dimension Programmes organised at each institution. As previously indicated, these programmes are an integral part of an ATHENS Session.

Once you have received official acceptance for the ATHENS Session, your registration is considered as definite. Only in the case of major unforeseen circumstances will Home Institutions permit their students to cancel registration. Last minute cancellations can be quite expensive: students can be asked to pay local expenses entailed by the course institution and the cost of housing reserved for them.

According to your nationality, please verify the visa requirements for the destinations you have chosen. 

ATHENS Programme Coordinator:

Ms. Dominika Frąk - Dudzińska

Centre for International Cooperation

Warsaw University of Technology

Main Building, Plac Politechniki 1, room 233C (2nd floor)

tel.: +48 22 234 6150